//
Uncategorized

AAJA Tokyo Resume Event Recap

By Teppei Kasai, AAJA student member

AAJA’s resume critique event at the Dow Jones Japan offices on Tuesday, February 26th was an invaluable experience, especially for a university student like myself just beginning to enter the world of journalism.

After listening to panelists from the Wall Street Journal/Dow Jones Newswires, Associated Press, Resume Pro and the Japan Times, I believe we were all able to gain an insight to what employers look for in potential candidates and in their resumes.

Before attending the critique, I wrote my resume relying on a few Google searches and peer edits. After attending the event, however, I realized that there is much more to the resume than meets the eye.

I was matched up with Malcolm Foster, AP Tokyo Bureau Chief, for my one-on-one resume critique. Foster pointed out a few careless mistakes I made like inconsistency in grammar, style and structure.

Foster recommended I personalize my resume more – to make it stand out by writing about my hobbies, extracurricular activities that may seem irrelevant but actually show my dedication to journalism, and so on and so forth.

I didn’t just meet Foster. I had the honor to be able to meet so many other veteran journalists whose work I read regularly and respect.

Overall, it was a very enriching experience, both in terms of meeting fellow journalists, as well as getting great advice on my resume.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

On Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,196 other followers

